Texas governor adds Southeast Texas counties to disaster declaration

A viewer sent us this photo of flooding in Little Cypress. 

There are now a total of 58 counties on Texas Gov. Greg Abbott's state disaster declaration, including all of Southeast Texas.

Abbott on Monday visited the Coastal Bend area to survey some of the storm's damage first hand.

This is the list of Southeast Texas counties included in the disaster declaration.

  • Jefferson
  • Orange
  • Hardin
  • Jasper
  • Tyler
  • Newton
  • Chambers
  • Liberty
"Recovering after a catastrophe like this will be a long and difficult road, but I am committed to making sure the State of Texas is responding to the needs of victims every step of the way," Abbott said in an email. "I want to reassure all Texans affected by this terrible event that they are not alone and help is on the way. As the response effort continues, this disaster declaration ensures that Texans have what they need to begin the recovery and rebuilding process."

Earlier Monday, Jefferson County Judge Jeff Branick ordered mandatory evacuations for Bevil Oaks, west of Beaumont.

Voluntary evacuations are in place for low-lying areas in Jefferson and Hardin counties.

Orange County emergency management officials have discussed voluntary evacuations, but have yet to make that call.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off