SE Texas cities plan to agree Walker County as area for future evacuations

Four cities are preparing to designate Walker County, near Huntsville, as the short-term area for evacuees.

Port Neches, Nederland, Groves, and Port Arthur will vote in their city council meetings on whether to approve the inter-local agreement.

Walker County, Emergency Management officials say evacuees will be taken on buses to one of 10 sheltered locations.

"This will be better for us to prepare for what's to come," Butch Davis said, Walker County EMC.

Port Neches will vote on the agreement Thursday. All four cities will need to agree before the plan can immediately move forward.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off